Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.
« English River Outfitters receives $1,500 | Main | 105 Years of Whoopee Days »

Washington High School wins Iowa Character Award 

Since 2005, the Iowa Character Awards have recognize individuals and organizations annually with good character. This year the Washington High School Students Against Drunk Driving (SADD) has been chosen as one of the 12 awards, School Organization of Character Award. This is a great honor for the school system. Principal Buchholz was told that it is like the Oscars of awards in Iowa. The group will be attending the ceremony July 31 at Prairie Meadows Events and Conference Center. 

Congratulations to our 2015 Award Recipients!

Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award:  Rich Willis and Suku Radia

Champion of Character Award:  Ed Banach

Partner of the Year Award:  Tim Vorland Photography

Citizen of Character (Adult) Award:  Tyler Leech

Citizen of the Year (Youth) Award:  Ethan Lowder

School of Character Award:  Cardinal Community Schools

School Organization of Character Award:  Washington High School SADD

Educator of Character Award:  Gary Janssen

Organization of Character Award:  Harbaugh-Williams Education Promise

Pursuing Victory With Honor Award:  Springville Girls Basketball

Aaron Eilerts Community Service Award:  Abigail Hammer

Mascot of Character: Crash, Iowa Wild


Tickets to the event can be bought online CLICK HERE

References (4)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>